Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • play_arrow

    Fun Size Trending Topics September 23, 2021. His Name? St. Dangerous Of Course CD929

On Tidbit Thursdays, we explore some recent stories in music news. Let’s go!

  • Fat Mike (formerly of NOFX) released an album of his songs transformed into chamber music. Fat Mike Gets Strung Out officially drops tomorrow, though you can listen to the tracks now on the Fat Wreck Records YouTube channel.
  • Olivia Rodrigo released Guts on colored vinyl with each variant available through selected retailers. Since then, fans have discovered that four different bonus tracks are included (one each) on the different releases.
    Editor’s note: I got the indie record store lavender release so it looks like I’ll have “Girl I’ve Always Been” when I finally get it.
  • In a move consistent with Matt Healy’s climate change stance, The 1975 will be performing the very first carbon-removed concert at the O2 in London. Not all details have been released just yet but if the concert is successful, it could change the way concerts are done in the future, keeping the financial cost and fan experience more or less the same while being easier on the planet.
  • Chvrches have shared another bonus track from the deluxe edition of The Bones of What You Believe (out October 20th). The previously unreleased track “Talking in My Sleep,” was released as a preview last week. Chvrches say they drew heavily from their ’80s influences for “Talking in My Sleep,” the second bonus track they’ve previewed.
  • Who owns two of the world’s largest companies and has managed to draw the attention of artists as diverse as David Draiman and Dionne Warwick? Elon Musk was the subject of Warwick’s ire last week after he announced that the “block” function will be removed from X. Warwick told People “I have yet to speak to that young man and I intend to because I am not quite sure what he’s doing or if he knows what he’s doing.” Draiman (frontman of Disturbed) also wants a word with Musk to discuss the platform’s perceived anti-semitism. Draiman has been vocal about ending anti-semitism on the platform and his responses to Musk come after Musk’s claim that he will sue the Anti-Defamation League. Musk has not yet responded publicly.
  • Paul Simon told The Hollywood Reporter this week that he has been struggling with hearing loss in his left ear. As a result, he’s exploring the possibility of bringing on guitarists to play his parts on tour.
  • Chrissie Hynde (of the Pretenders) recently told Record Collector that she feels she didn’t do enough to discourage her early bandmates James Honeyman-Scott and Pete Farndon from the drug usage that ultimately killed them in the early ’80s. She also referred to the more-recent Pretenders as “a Pretenders tribute band,” a somewhat apt description as even the living Martin Chambers takes years off at a time from recording with the band.
  • On what would have been Amy Winehouse’s 40th birthday, her ex-husband has admitted to having felt some serious survivor’s guilt, but he’s finally ready to forgive himself.
  • Travis Barker surprised a lucky fan with a set of drumsticks as the fan waited outside a venue with a sign requesting a single drumstick. Blink 182 also announced a release date of 9/21 for new music if the latest if their series of cryptic X posts is being interpreted correctly.
  • Thundercat just released a song in partnership with Listerine as part of The Whoa Collection, an initiative to help close the diversity gap in dentistry. The song uses samples of people using mouthwash.

This week’s single releases:

  • Cat Power recently announced a live album of Bob Dylan covers based on his 1966 concert at the Free Trade Hall (mislabeled for years as Royal Albert Hall on Dylan bootlegs). Cat Power Sings Dylan: The 1966 Royal Albert Hall Concert is out November 10th. So far, she has released two tracks including her version of “She Belongs to Me.”
    “She Belongs to Me”
  • Big Thief finally released an official version of “Born For Loving You,” a previously unreleased song they previewed for Ohioans at Nelsonville in July (not that Ohioans are the only ones who got to hear it early).
    “Born For Loving You”
  • Metric released another single from Formentera II (out October 20th), “Who Would You Be For Me?”
    “Who Would You Be For Me?”
  • A posthumous album by Jimmy Buffet Equal Strain on All Parts will be released November 3rd and will feature contributions from Paul McCartney and Emmylou Harris. McCartney made a heartfelt post on X about Buffet’s passing and recommended “Bubbles Up,” though McCartney’s larger contributions were on “My Gummie Just Kicked In.” “Bubbles Up” sounds slightly incomplete in an endearing way, reminding us that Buffet stayed positive and kept making music until the end.
    “Bubbles Up”
    Editor’s note: I may have a slight obsession with the music people make as they are reaching the end of their lives. I can’t help but feel that “Bubbles Up” serves as a perfect thesis statement for Buffet’s life.
  • Micky Dolenz (formerly of The Monkees) just announced an EP of R.E.M. covers and shared his cover of “Shiny Happy People.”
    “Shiny Happy People”
    Editor’s note: too bad he didn’t get Kate Pierson to sing her part with him.
  • Animal Collective released “Gem & I” ahead of It Isn’t Now (out September 29th).
    “Gem & I”
  • Wilco released a lyric video for “Cousin” ahead of their album of the same name, out September 29th.

Just Emma (


Now Playing


Written by: Emma Sedam

Rate it